wvujazzman

State Farm vs Progressive Insurance

Hi everyone... newbies to both FMCA and MH in general... just getting ready to purchase our first MH and I'm doing some research on insurance.  Progressive seems to be the leader in terms of service, but all my other stuff is with State Farm and I'll be forced to pay a premium on my umbrella liability policy if I don't use them for my RV insurance as well.  The costs are pretty close to Progressive, and I have the added benefit of a local agent with whom I've had a relationship for 25+ years... but is the coverage any good?  Does anyone have any experience with State Farm in terms of handling RV claims?  I've not had problems in other areas, but this could be different.

Thanks in advance!

Eric

Hi Jazzman and welcome. I have no experience with State Farm but I see your in PA so I wanted to chip in my 2 cents. We were in Punxsutawney and still have the farm there. I have had Nationwide for years and was happy with them. When we bought our coach last year and wanted to ins it, NW didn't do motorhomes but they used Progressive. We went with that and it was about $1400 for the year. We are now fulltime and residents of South Dakota. We also just renewed our policy with Progressive for $700 a year. Same policy, same company, different location. We are new as well and still learning so I'm only passing on what we did. May not be the best thing but it works for us, for now. Kind of like the old saying, "Don't follow me, I'm lost too". Safe journey.