Jump to content


Icon Welcome to the FMCA Motorhome Forums!

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and signed in, you will be able to create topics; post replies to existing topics; upload pictures; manage your profile; get your own private messenger; create blogs; and more. Sign up now! Already have an account? Sign in. This message will be removed once you are signed in.


Photo
- - - - -

Back Up Camera


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 dennysnine

dennysnine

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 01 October 2011 - 01:01 PM

Does anyone have any idea why backup camera is not working, do they have fuses? Ours was working, but not now.
  • 0

#2 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,658 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 01 October 2011 - 01:07 PM

Yes, since they are 12 VDC, there will be a fuse (or should be).

Without knowing what system you have, its age, whether monitor works/camera doesn't, etc it is difficult to really assist.

Once you have verified that you do have 12 VDC to the system, if it doesn't work, my suggestion is to contact: http://www.rvcams.com/Default.htm

They are one of the few places in the country that diagnose and actually repair rear view systems (cameras and monitors).
  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#3 mirpc

mirpc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 01 October 2011 - 06:12 PM

We have a 2005 Monaco Dynasty and we recently encountered the same problem with our back up camera...The audio works but the video does not. All I get is a reddish brown blur along with some scrolling and fluttering. I checked the harness in the back and it did not correct the problem. I was told that it might be either the camera itself or the wiring harness has some corrosion...
  • 0

#4 dennysnine

dennysnine

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts

Posted 01 October 2011 - 06:31 PM

Does anyone have any idea why backup camera is not working, do they have fuses? Ours was working, but not now.

We have Weldex sytem, where would you find a fuse for it?
  • 0

#5 lmsooter

lmsooter

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Location:Mayhill, New Mexico
  • I travel:With Pets, Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 01 October 2011 - 07:26 PM

Does the power light on the monitor come on? There have been lots of problems with Weldex. Mine would work for 30 or 45 minutes and then have nothing but lines on the screen. Then it would be a blank screen. As far as I know all Alfa See Ya motorhomes had the Weldex system and most owners who have not already changed them out are looking at doing it. I cleaned the cable connection to the camera and it helped some but the picture is still borderline. Probably will change the system out when we get back home next week.
  • 0
Leary and Sandra Sooter
2006 Alfa See Ya
2005 Jeep Liberty Renegade
Roadmaster Falcon 2 Towbar
Brake Buddy Vantage

#6 bthomforde

bthomforde

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 43 posts
  • Location:Full Timers

Posted 01 October 2011 - 11:09 PM

We have a 2008 Travel Supreme with a Weldex camera, it works when it pleases which isn't very often.
I haven't read anything good about Weldex and it doesn't matter the make of coach, they all suck.
  • 0

Brian
2012 Tiffin Allegro Bus
450 Cummins
2007 Chevy Colorado toad
Here's Where we are


#7 fossfactor

fossfactor

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 31 posts
  • I travel:With Pets, Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 06 November 2011 - 05:47 PM

We took the assembly off the back and our WELDEX was taped together but halfway unplugged. It worked 700 miles then quit. Cleaned contacts electrical tape and we are good to go!
  • 0
Brad and Kathy Foss
2004 Monaco Windsor
2005 Jeep Rubicon

We are owned and operated by our 2 Boston Terriers

#8 LDJohnson

LDJohnson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 November 2011 - 08:19 PM

I have a Tradewinds 40C 2006, I had problems with the backup camera just months after purchase. Took it to the factory and they ran a micky mouse fix under the coach ... cable not screwed together on the rear of the motor .... mess...

Bottom line the connector was not screwed together ... at the camera end... on their fix... so it came apart. Now I am faced with trying to capture the end ... worked all day no luck.

So, I have replugged in the original cable to the camera, and am hoping someone knows the routing for the camera cable in a National Tradewinds ... 40 C .. I have their system pdf ... but it tells nada about the original cable routing.

If ANYONE KNOWS HOW THIS IS ROUTED THROUGH OVER HEAD.. I THINK ... PLEASE LET ME KNOW..

BOTTOM LINE WITH CAMERA PROBLEMS, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE GOOD CONNECTIONS AND THE CABLES ARE FASTEN TO PREVENT THEM FROM PARTING WITH VIBRATION.
  • 0

#9 Alyce38

Alyce38

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 06 December 2011 - 11:42 PM

Backup cameras in rear view are like 100-200 dollars, and if you already have a dvd or nav screen can be put in to that for the same price.

Its a cool idea, but I'd rather have something with a screen always there, than making sure my phone is in the cradle and connected. Oh and 99% of cradles have the phone in portrait, which would suck for a back up camera.
  • 0

#10 bforrest

bforrest

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Location:Hanover, Pa
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 10 December 2011 - 08:10 AM

We have a 2008 Winneabago Destination with a Voyager camera system. The monitor on our system will not even powerup. It was working fine now nothing. Does anyone know if their is a fuse I can check and where I might look for it.

thanks
  • 0

#11 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,658 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 10 December 2011 - 09:30 AM

Yes, bforrest, there will be a fuse. Call Winnebago for its location if you don't have a wiring diagram. Have you checked your dash area 12 VDC fuse box? On many coaches, it is in the basement forward of the left front tire.

Brett
  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#12 oldmarine

oldmarine

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 29 posts
  • Location:Arizona

Posted 10 December 2011 - 01:05 PM

Yes they are fused, but not always true a conventional fuse. We have an Alfa Gold motor home ,and it gave me fits for quite some
time. First, there is a switch on the driver side switch panel which has to be on, but can easily be bumped with your leg when getting
into the driver seat.

And the camera is fused to the inverter, so if the inverter (the smaller one) is off, you don't have the back up monitor on line.

Secondly, if your picture quality is really bad, like mine was, get access to the back of the monitor. There are adjuster knobs
for sharpness and color. Its still not TV picture perfect, but definitely a lot better, I can live with it now.

I hope this will help.
  • 0

#13 happybour

happybour

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 26 March 2014 - 01:36 PM

We have the same problem with our 2005 Dynasty back up camera, have sound blurry picture.  Did anyone come up with a fix?


  • 0

#14 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,562 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 27 March 2014 - 06:18 AM

happybour,

 

Welcome to the FMCA Forum!

 

When you mention blurry picture, do you mean out of focus or did some dirt get on the lens and / or on the weather housing window?

 

Rich.


  • 0

#15 floatndoc

floatndoc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 27 March 2014 - 09:25 AM

Has anyone had experience with the wireless backup cameras. Good or bad??


  • 0

#16 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,562 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 28 March 2014 - 11:08 AM

floatndoc,

 

Welcome to the FMCA Forum!

 

I have not used them myself and was hoping one of the members would chime in with some first hand information.

They do work well with a stick and brick structure and there is the possibility of some locations where they might pickup some interference.

You might see if a dealer would allow you to try one by locating the receiver in the coach and walking around the coach with a camera to see what happens.

 

One would need to replace the batteries on some models or have a way to install and wire in a power supply in the general proximity of the camera(s).

 

There is one area of the country where ALL wireless equipment is forbidden by law. Can cover that issue if you need information.

 

Rich.


  • 0

#17 jgallego

jgallego

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Location:Deer Park, TX

Posted 28 March 2014 - 12:16 PM

I had a wireless backup camera on my 5th wheel.  It worked fine without a problem.  It had good picture quality and sound.  It was the Voyager Digital Wireless Backup System.  5th wheel was 37 feet long and I it on a crew cab Silverado pickup truck.

 

Jaime


  • 0

#18 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,562 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 02 April 2014 - 09:54 PM

happybour,

 

Got your PM regarding the way the system failed. Question, do you have just the one camera?

 

The pattern you mentioned, sounds like a failed scan circuit, thing is it could be the monitor, if its a flat screen.

Could you enlighten me regarding the weather conditions, was it fine and you just powered it up again, any noise in the picture before it went blank?

 

There is always the possibility that you lost the power feed to the camera and that could be behind the camera at the back or up front at the monitor connection.

 

It might prove helpful to see if there is a security company in your area that would check it out, they work with a number of different systems and doing a complete diagnostic remotely is difficult.

 

Posting the model numbers, make and year of the equipment would be helpful. There might be others on the forum with matching equipment, along with suggestions.

 

There is an answer in most cases and with enough feed back the answer could be a simple thing. so lets give it a shot.

 

Rich.   


  • 0

#19 amartisauskas

amartisauskas

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 23 April 2014 - 10:48 AM

I recently purchased a 2001 Safari Trek, and the backup camera worked just fine.  Then I replaced the old CRT type TV with a new LED monitor.  Now, no backup camera.  When I opened the back of the RV to get to the camera, I found that there was no power to it!!  Where do I find a good detailed electrical diagram for the RV that will show me which fuse powers the camera?


  • 0

#20 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,658 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 23 April 2014 - 11:17 AM

Welcome to the FMCA Forum.

 

The best information on your Trek can probably be found on the Trek Track Website: http://www.nwtfc.com/forum/default.asp

 

Monaco Corp would be another potential source of information:

 

Monaco Oregon Service Center. ORservice@monacorv.com. 91320 Coburg Industrial Way. Coburg, OR 97408. 877-466-6226


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users