If you are having problems signing in, please contact webmaster@fmca.com. Thank you.

Photo
- - - - -

Motorhome Will Only Provide 30 Amps Even When Plugged Into 50 Amp Power

50 amp 30 amp winnebago journey

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 chrisg4242

chrisg4242

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 17 December 2011 - 04:23 PM

Hi - I'm a newbie. We've had our 2005 Winnebago Journey 39ft since the Summer and I'm struggling to get 50 amp power inside the motorhome.

We've plugged into many 50 amp outlets at different campsites but all I can see on the panel is 30 amp.

Part of the problem is that I'm a real novice with electrics so I'm not really sure where to look...the inverter? the panel etc...

Perhaps there's someone kind enough to point me in the right direction?

By the way, we're on a winter trip from our home near Mt Rainer, WA to Vegas, Anneheim, San Diego, Sonoma and in January back home - we're enjoying RVing a lot.

Many thanks!

Chris

#2 Guest_BillAdams_*

Guest_BillAdams_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 December 2011 - 04:42 PM

If your coach is wired for 30 amps then it does not matter what you plug into as you will never get more than 30 amps. 30 amp service provides a total of 30 amps throughout the entire coach (assuming you have a gauge showing your amps you will only have one). With 50 amp service you would actually have 2 separate 50 amp legs for a total of 100 amps available.
You are not going to be able to get more than the coach is wired for just by plugged into a circuit with the capability of providing more.

#3 wolfe10

wolfe10

Advanced Member

• Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,685 posts

Posted 17 December 2011 - 05:21 PM

To follow up on Bill's post, to tell if you have 30 amp or 50 amp coach, look at the male end of the shore power cord:

30 amp has 3 prongs.
50 amp has 4 prongs.