Jump to content


Icon Welcome to the FMCA Motorhome Forums!

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and signed in, you will be able to create topics; post replies to existing topics; upload pictures; manage your profile; get your own private messenger; create blogs; and more. Sign up now! Already have an account? Sign in. This message will be removed once you are signed in.


Photo
- - - - -

Furnace Start Up


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 billkoboldt

billkoboldt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 01 January 2013 - 06:30 PM

I have had a problem with my furnace in a 2003 class A Coachmen.

If the weather is 25 degrees or colder the furnace will not ignite, nor will the fan start. The batteries are fully charged and it is plugged into shore power. The other day I put a small electric heater about 8 inches away from the air vent inside the coach and turned it on high for about 15 minutes and then it started. Anybody out there know what the problem could be. I have no problem with it during cool mornings in the spring or fall. Thanks for any help.
  • 0

#2 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,423 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 01 January 2013 - 07:04 PM

Since the fan does not even come on, and that is the first step in the "light the furnace" process, my first suspect is an electrical issue. Start by checking that all connections are tight. Remember, when cold, metal SHRINKS and can make a marginal connection inoperative.

So, connections at thermostat and at furnace (outside access door). If that does not do it, unplug the connection on the furnace PC board (outside access door) and clean with DeOxit or other good electrical cleaner.
  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#3 RVerOnTheMove

RVerOnTheMove

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 448 posts
  • I travel:Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 01 January 2013 - 07:32 PM

In order for the furnace to ignite the fan must run first. There is a "sail switch" that must sense air flow first before anything else will happen. As mentioned above, the heat is effecting something in the loop so you might want to check that something that is closest to your heat source. Is the heater making it warmer where the thermostat is located? Where the fan is located? Where a circuit board might be located? Once it's warm and running, does it keep running "forever"?
Any additional details you can think of?
  • 0
Bill

#4 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 03:42 AM

Do you have the owners manual for your furnace? If not list the Make an Model number and I will see if I can supply a cope of some information that covers you's.

Rich.
  • 0

#5 billkoboldt

billkoboldt

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 02 January 2013 - 11:42 AM

After putting an electric heater in front of the inside vent yesterday, today with outside temp of 20 degrees, the furnace started right up with no problem. No electric heater needed this time. Yes, it will start up after it initially get it running. It is an Atwood hydro flame furnace, 8900-III series. The owners manual does not have any trouble shooting information in it. Thanks for all the information from everyone. Bill.
  • 0

#6 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,361 posts

Posted 02 January 2013 - 04:43 PM

Bill, This information may fill in some of the gaps in your information.
Link.
http://www.atwoodmob... E 11.27.06.pdf


Rich.
  • 0

#7 wjs822

wjs822

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 03 January 2013 - 03:13 PM

I have a related issue, 06 H/R Endeavor, 5 button thermostat, when trying to run the front furnace it doesn't show on the thermostat.

The back one shows up as you are scrolling through the menu. Would it be a bad connection the reason it is not showing on the thermostat?
  • 0

#8 baynhambecky

baynhambecky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:04 PM

Atwood 8500 Hydro Flame Furnace. Fan comes on, cycles and goes off. Replaced electronic board as suggested. Still the same symtom, fan on, cycles, fan off. Any suggestions or help out there. Thanks so much Ed


  • 0

#9 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,423 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:35 PM

Ed,

 

Welcome to the FMCA Forum.

 

Actually the board would NOT be one if the first things I would suspect with your symptoms.

 

You have a SAIL SWITCH that closes when it senses adequate air flow.  If that doesn't happen, there will be no gas valve opening or ignition sparking.

 

Causes of sail switch not closing:

Low voltage at the furnace causing the fan speed to be too low.

Restriction in air return causing restricted air flow.

Restriction from crushed air duct and/or closed heater vents.


  • 1

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#10 TBUTLER

TBUTLER

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,293 posts
  • Location:Ayers Rock, Australia

Posted 30 November 2013 - 02:49 PM

Or the sail switch itself could be faulty.  We had one quit several years ago.  Replacing it solved the problem.  On our furnace the switch is easily located on the fan housing and it is an easy replacement.  Try Brett's list and it that doesn't get it, order a new switch.


  • 0

Tom and Louise Butler
2004 Monaco Windsor, Cummins 400 ISL
Roadmaster Sterling Tow Bar, Brakemaster, GMC Acadia, BikeE Recumbent Bicycles

After 9 1/2 years full time in our motor home and being Winter Texans we are now living at Sandpipers Resort in Edinburg, Texas. Now we are Summer Chickens!

"The tipi is much better to live in; always clean and warm in winter, cool in summer, easy to move... If the Great Spirit wanted men to live in one place he would have made the world stand still." -- Flying Hawk, South Dakota Oglala Sioux


#11 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,423 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 30 November 2013 - 03:04 PM

Tom is absolutely correct.

 

But a lot of PC boards and sail switch have been replaced that were perfectly good. 

 

Go through all the diagnostics rather than throwing parts at it.

 

A loose or corroded connection where 12 VDC does into the furnace or a duct in the basement crushed by a box can cause the same symptoms as a PC board.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#12 baynhambecky

baynhambecky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 December 2013 - 10:22 AM

Brett and Tbutler, thanks for the info. Trying not to throw parts at it but the board was bad when it was taken out and tested, so replaced it. Now I know what to do next. Thanks. Thanks


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users