Jump to content


Icon Welcome to the FMCA Motorhome Forums!

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and signed in, you will be able to create topics; post replies to existing topics; upload pictures; manage your profile; get your own private messenger; create blogs; and more. Sign up now! Already have an account? Sign in. This message will be removed once you are signed in.


Photo
- - - - -

No Electric Norcold, Trips Breaker


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 killintime

killintime

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 09:23 PM

Hi all. 

 

I am new to the forum looking for some advice. 

 

I have a 95 Four Winds MH with a Norcold 462.  Last year the unit lost the ability to cool on electric so I just used gas and it worked fine all last year on propane.

 

I just brought the RV out of storage and plugged in to shore power and it tripped the breaker. Found the circuit tripping the breaker is the refrigerator. Unplugged the fridge and I have 120volts to the coach now but I am thinking I had better figure out what might be the problem with the fridge.

 

Has anyone had this experience or have a suggestion where to begin? 

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Good information on this forum. Nice site!


  • 0

#2 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,378 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 09:34 PM

Killintime, Welcome to FMCA !

 

Do you have the owners manual for you refrigerator?  Some manuals have more or less information depending on model and year.

 

With the frig tripping the circuit breaker, I would think the AC Heater unit is shorted out.

 

That being the case it might be time to replace the unit. It lasted around 18 years, not bad for this type refrigerator.

 

Rich


  • 0

#3 killintime

killintime

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 May 2013 - 09:49 PM

Thanks Rich.

 

Good idea on the manual. I will probably have to download one from Norcold if possible.

 

 I did run another extension chord out and plugged it into the fridge and it also tripped the breaker, so it is in the unit.  I am afraid you might be right about replacement. If the entire refrigerator should be replaced I would probably just order one online and install it myself or keep running this unit on gas for awhile. My propane is empty tonight so I will run downtown tomorrow and fill the propane up and see if she works okay on gas again.


  • 0

#4 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,450 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 26 May 2013 - 07:41 AM

Before concluding that you need a whole new refrigerator, troubleshoot the 120 VAC element and wiring.  If the cooling unit is working (i.e. cools on propane) spending a few dollars on a new heating element which is easy to replace or fixing a nick in a wire would be a lot less expensive.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#5 hermanmullins

hermanmullins

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,466 posts
  • Location:Whitewright, TEXAS

Posted 26 May 2013 - 07:22 PM

I have to agree with Brett. Any time you trip a breaker the moment you plug in the unit you have a direct short. Follow your lead back to the unit you may find a bare wire. Look for a burnt spot on metal where the wire may have come in contact. 

Good luck.

 

Herman


  • 0

"Fair winds and Following Seas"

Herman & Bobbie Mullins
Whitewright, TEXAS
F302225
'02 Monaco Dynasty
40 ft 400 HP ISL
Chevrolet Silverado (M & G air brakes)
US Navy PR-3 1956 to 1964

Southern Region Vice President for Six-State Rally Association
Lone Star Chapter FMCA Past President
South Central Lucky Rollers
Rally in The Pasture


#6 killintime

killintime

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 June 2013 - 01:30 PM

Hi all.

Update on my fridge. It works well on propane. Opened things up and found a lot of corrosion in the flu. The ac heating element is 'seized' up inside the tube. I can't wiggle it. I looked at a new element online and it appears that it would drop into the tube but I am unsure how it should be secured. Or how to proceed to remove the rusted in old one. I realize I should clean the rust up as much as possible inside the flu to clean things up and help the system operate better and last. I am unsure how to proceed and am hoping someone might have some suggestions or cautions on how to proceed with replacing the ac element and cleaning the flu.

Sorry the pictures rotated, not sure why, or smart enough to figure out how to post them in the right perspective.

 

Thanks for your time!

Kevin

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • heater 1.jpg
  • heater 2a.jpg

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users