Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Charger and Inverter Setup for Shore Power

mandalay inverter settings

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 bobbyks

bobbyks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:Gonzales, La

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:17 PM

I own a 2008 40-C Mandalay, 50-amp system, ME 2012 Magnum charger/inverter.

 

About a month ago I changed out the four house and start batteries. I keep the coach plugged in to a 30-amp system at home when not traveling in order to run fridge and one AC due to hot humid weather in south Louisiana.

 

I noticed today with the fridge running and the one AC running, the VAC had dropped to 105 to 108 on several outlets.I was pulling 22 amps with battery indicating 12.3, charger on and inverter off.

 

My question is, what is the proper setup for the charger/inverter when connected to shore power? I have been told not turn the inverter on when connected to shore power. The 105/108 vac concerns me.


  • 0

#2 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,792 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:39 PM

Several issues.

 

Yes 105 is too low to be running A/C.

 

And, 12.3 VDC on the batteries indicates a 50% discharged battery-- so, clearly they are not being charged.

 

On some inverters, the switch only functions when no shore or generator power present-- i.e. on or off makes no difference when plugged in.

 

On others, the switch does control charger section.

 

22 amps @ 120 VAC indicates that you have some other heavy load going-- that is more than one A/C and refrigerator, particularly since the charger did not appear to be on.  Water heater? Block heater?

 

Short term, turn off A/C, get the charger section going.  Many inverter/chargers offer a "power share or power save" feature-- you can limit the number of amps of 120 VAC that it can use to charge the batteries.  Since you want to be able to run other things on limited power, I would set this to the lowest setting-- often 5 amps-- which will charge the batteries around 40 amps @14 VDC.

 

And, also living in a hot, humid place (south Texas) I would suggest another way to control humidity. You will use a lot less power by installing a home dehumidifier in the coach while stored and setting it at 50% humidity.  Drain it into the gray tank.

 

Brett


  • 1

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#3 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,624 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 18 September 2013 - 04:57 AM

 Do you have AC Power from the 2 AC Circuits when the inverter is off? And what voltage are you reading? The internal transfer switch can cause voltage issues.

 

What is the charge voltage across the house batteries with the inverter turned off?

 

The ME2012 is a 200 amp modified sine wave output inverter. With a 30 amp AC input being common and 2-120 volt AC outputs with one 15 amp circuit breaker and a 20 amp breaker. The input and output breakers / reset button are located close to the bottom edge, externally just behind  and below the AC access cover.

 

With the coach plugged in the inverter would not need to be running. AC power would be supplied from shore power. With the Inverter running, the internal transfer switch connects the AC input to the charger, charging the batteries; that in turn power the inverter portion supplying ac power to the 2 AC outputs built into the unit.

 

This is a link to the owners manual should you not have one handy.

 

http://www.magnumene...(ME Series).pdf

 

What size and style batteries are installed,  Wet or AGM and are they 6 volt or 12 volt house batteries ?

 

There should be a fuse between the alternator and the Charger. The size can very depending on the output of the alternator.

The output fuse size for your inverter could be a 175 or 200 amp fuse.

 

Rich.


  • 0

#4 bobbyks

bobbyks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:Gonzales, La

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:06 AM

I turned the AC off. Voltage came back to 120 V, batteries indicating 13.3.

 

Can I leave the charger and inverter on while hooked to shore power. The batteries are wet -6 V (4).

 

I may need to check, when I noticed drop in VAC to 105 I was running the front AC, never noticed a drop when running the rear.

 

For some reason the middle AC unit will only operate on Gen or 50A shore.


  • 0

#5 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,624 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 18 September 2013 - 09:43 AM

With the load running and no load check the voltage at the 30 Amp outlet box. Are you at home or a campground ? Should you be at a camp ground,  measure the voltage at the 120 volt outlet next to your 30 amp connection. If its low then there is a problem with the shore power source.  The same condition could be happening at home if the wire gauge is not the proper size to carry the required current. The other point(s) to check are the connections at all the plugs and sockets. Loose or damaged contacts can also cause issues and one never knows when they will pop up.

 

ONE Must make sure all circuit brakes and power sources are disconnected or off.

 

For proper voltage readings, ALL the connections must be tight and clean for the 120 volt circuits and the 12 volt circuits to operate properly.

 

 Running 2 AC units on a 30 amp circuit is right at the limit for that sized circuit.

The middle AC unit is wired into the second 120 volt side of the power box and is not available on any source less the 50 amps.

 

Could you post some information on where you are connecting to get power to the coach? Are you home or on the road?

Hard to forward good information with limited information.

Did you have the problem before the batteries where replaced at the same location you are currently parked?

 

Rich.


  • 0

#6 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,792 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 18 September 2013 - 10:08 AM

To answer the question of whether you can leave your charger on 24/7 the answer is yes, IF you have it properly programmed.  See your inverter/charger manual for programming instructions.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#7 bobbyks

bobbyks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:Gonzales, La

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:04 PM

I am at home, ran the following checks with air on:  

Shore side 112 V, inside MH 108 V.

Air off shore 118 V MH 118 V. 

 

Smart EMS load meter with air on reading 16 A,

Magnum reading 0 A with 13.3 battery.Battery charger on.

 

Wire feeding recepticle on shore side is AWG 12 Type CU 3CDR 600V.  Should this wire handle the load requirement ?


  • 0

#8 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,624 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 18 September 2013 - 02:46 PM

AWG 12 is a little light for 30 amp loads, AGW 10 would be a better choice, but I need to ask how long is the run between the coach shore connector and the feed panel.

With the readings you are getting I would lean towards to 10 Gage and if its a long run 8 Gauge.

 

Rich.


  • 0

#9 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,792 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 18 September 2013 - 03:00 PM

Yup, what is the length of wire run from house breaker box to your RV outlet?

 

And, with a 50 amp shore power cord, assume you are using your 50 amp cord and a very short 30 male to 50 female adapter rather than using a 30 amp cord and then adapting "up" to 50 amp at the coach.  Bottom line-- less voltage drop with larger-gauge wire.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#10 bobbyks

bobbyks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:Gonzales, La

Posted 18 September 2013 - 07:43 PM

From the 30 A breaker to the outlet is about 80 feet, I use a 16 inch 30 to 50 A reducer, I am thinking I have too much pull on the the 12 gauge wire.

 

I am going to have my electrical buddy check all connections for tightness and possible change out wire to  10 or 8 g wire.

 

Thanks all for input, this what makes FMCA a top notch organization.


  • 0

#11 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,792 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 19 September 2013 - 07:44 AM

If he is going to pull new wire (a good idea to go larger gauge) consider having him pull an extra hot wire and set up a 50 amp outlet.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#12 bobbyks

bobbyks

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 72 posts
  • Location:Gonzales, La

Posted 19 September 2013 - 09:03 AM

Wolfe, your right I thinking it would be better to run a 50A line and leave the 30A as it also provides lights for my cover when needed.


  • 0

#13 bukzin

bukzin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 03 December 2013 - 02:17 PM

Here is detailed info on the remote which is used with that Magnum inverter/charger...

 

http://www.magnumene...v D (ME-RC).pdf

 

There are a number of user adjustable settings within this remote/display.   The default settings

are found on page 17 of the above guide.

 

 

Two things to remember, there have been software updates so check your 'revision number'

It is found within the display on the ME-RC remote.

 

Secondly, Magnum makes a newer remote with advanced features which will work

with the ME-2012.  It does a bunch of additional things but is pricey.


  • 0

#14 ticat900

ticat900

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 192 posts

Posted 15 December 2013 - 12:20 PM

Several things here. Starting off with 112V is not enough(poor to begin with) because soon as you add loads like the AC it will drop the voltage below acceptable levels as you soon found out and running a 30 amp 80 ft #12 extension just adds fuel to the fire.Should use #8, PLUS how far is the 30 amp outlet away from your original power to house inlet? Check the out voltage at the receptacle.


  • 0

#15 bukzin

bukzin

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 December 2013 - 01:08 PM

Here is detailed info on the remote which is used with that Magnum inverter/charger...

 

http://www.magnumene...v D (ME-RC).pdf

 

There are a number of user adjustable settings within this remote/display.   The default settings

are found on page 17 of the above guide.

 

 

Two things to remember, there have been software updates so check your 'revision number'

It is found within the display on the ME-RC remote.

 

Secondly, Magnum makes a newer remote with advanced features which will work

with the ME-2012.  It does a bunch of additional things but is pricey.

 

 

Maybe someone can advise me on the optimum settings with my ME-RC connected to my ME-2012 Magnum units.

 

I have 4 golf cart (Trojan T-105's) six volt batteries in my 'house' bank, and 2 twelve volt batts (no name's) in my chassis bank.

This is a stock set up in a 2006 Monaco diesel.

 

Have spent time looking at the settings and expect mine are close, but not sure.

 

Thx!


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users