Jump to content


Icon Welcome to the FMCA Motorhome Forums!

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and signed in, you will be able to create topics; post replies to existing topics; upload pictures; manage your profile; get your own private messenger; create blogs; and more. Sign up now! Already have an account? Sign in. This message will be removed once you are signed in.


Photo
- - - - -

Air conditioning R134a Capacity For Chevrolet P37 6.2 L diesel engine


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Spruijt

Spruijt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:the Netherlands

Posted 07 October 2013 - 01:27 PM

Hello,

 

Does anybody know how much R134a has to be put into the AC system of our RV Cobra Monterey P37 (Chevrolet) ??

 

thanx in advance, Rien and Yolanda


  • 0

#2 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,607 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 07 October 2013 - 03:52 PM

Rien,

 

Assume you are talking about the dash A/C.

 

Most pros fill by a set of gauges/use of site glass.

 

Hopefully, someone will be able to look up the total system capacity for your chassis.

 

What year model is the chassis?


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
1997 Safari Sahara 3540
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#3 dave111451

dave111451

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 28 posts

Posted 07 October 2013 - 04:01 PM

There may be a sticker on evaporator housing or accumalor dryer stating cgarge capacity. R134a systems are typically charged more by volume or pressure rather than site glass due to the fact that 134 can still have bubbles when system is full.

 If doing this yourself a slight under charge is better than an overcharge.    dave


  • 0

#4 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,515 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 07 October 2013 - 04:58 PM

Rein,

 

Been looking around my files and did not find a listing by volume or weight of freon.

 

The most common method used on this side of the pond is with a set of pressure manifolds. 

 

I'm not on top of my conversions from PSI and KP., but the common pressure on the low side of the systems is 28 to 30 psi in English. That is the point where the compressor will run continuously with out cycling on and off. 

 

The trick you need to use some times is to turn off the system and let the pressure equalize, then continue to add freon until the proper pressure is reached on the low side of the system.

 

DO Not charge above 32 PSI. above this level can cause part failure!!!! (220.64KPa.) Think I got it  right !

 

Remember to run a vacuum test on the system before charging and that the proper level of esters are in the system before charging!!!!

If the system has been running fine up until just recently and there is still a charge close to the required level on the low side, you might only need to top off the system to get it working.

 

ALSO ! a set of badly celebrated gauges can cause problem of an over or under charged system !!!!!

 

 

Rich.


  • 0

#5 Spruijt

Spruijt

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Location:the Netherlands

Posted 09 October 2013 - 03:02 PM

Thanx everybody for your help. We needed to know the weight of the cooling fluid that had to be put in. We managed to get the answer by asking just answer.com , you have to pay for answers on that website but we had the right answer in a short time. Now it's done and it works again. Maybe for someone else's information, the answer was 3 LBS.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users