This is regarding Texas Law - not any other state.
Recently there have been posts on different forums regarding a 90 day inspection/registration that is coming about. I was able to find a "Consolodated Inspection and Registration System Study" released in November 29, 2012, where a bill was passed to conduct a study regarding feasibility and best practices for using an electronic system to consolidate the inspection and registration of motor vehicles in Texas.
Today I called the local TxDMV Registration office and they do not know a thing about it. I then called the district office in Houston, and got the same information, and a number to TxDMV Headquarters.
The CSA at TxDM Headquarters was very helpful.
Here is a quote from the TxDMV web site. This is burried in the pages:
"HB 2305 9/1/2013; 3/1/2014; 3/1/2015 Single Registration/Inspection Sticker.
• Eliminates inspection sticker.
• Tax Assessor-Collector’s office will verify inspection via TxDPS database or with printed inspection certificate prior to issuance of registration.
• The state's portion of the inspection fee will be collected at time of registration.
• Vehicle owner must have inspection within 90 days prior to registration expiration.
• Vehicles sold by dealer must be inspected in the 180 days prior to sale of the vehicle.
• Administrative Rules must be adopted by 3/1/14.
• Implementation by 3/1/15."
You can find this at This TxDMV Link and cllicking on ATTACHMENT.
I'm posting to eliminate any future confusion that may exist. It was not an easy task to track this down. (Government, sheesh!)