Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

House RV Plug-- 30 Amp


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 gaylemarlowe

gaylemarlowe

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Beulah, Colorado
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 16 July 2014 - 12:55 PM

I know you knowledgeable fellas have answered this before, but could not find it in the old posts. I want to install a 30 amp rv plug on the house exterior and question whether the 30 amp is 110 or 220? Our electrician is also questioning it. Thanks in advance for your answers.


  • 0

#2 kaypsmith

kaypsmith

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Location:Hueytown, Al
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 16 July 2014 - 01:23 PM

IT is 110, please do not install as 220, it will fry your coach electrical if wired 220.


  • 0

#3 jrwitt

jrwitt

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 02:37 PM

There are several youtube videos out there that discuss installation of RV outlets at your home. Google "30A RV electrical Outlet".


  • 0

#4 Elkhartjim

Elkhartjim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:43 PM

You may want to consider installing a 50amp outlet.  You may someday have a RV that uses 50 amp service and you'll be glad you have the outlet.  You would need a 50 amp male to a 30 amp female dogbone pigtail adapter.  The only price difference would be in materials, the labor should be about the same.

 

Personally, I would also be looking for a different electrician.


  • 0

Jim S
2008 38S Fleetwood Bounder DP

Houston, TX area


#5 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,771 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:55 PM

30 amp RV outlet:

 

One hot

One neutral

One ground

 

50 amp RV outlet:

 

Two hots (240 as measured between the two hots)

One neutral

One ground


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#6 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,604 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 16 July 2014 - 03:58 PM

Gay, the 30 amp circuits for coaches consist of a hot 30 amp, a neutral and ground. NO 220 please! The plugs look like dryer connections, but they are wired different!!

 

The post by Jim is a very good option. You need to get the supplies and pay the labor so running one more wire is very cost effective option.

50 Amp = 2 hots 120 volts each (L-1 and L-2) a neutral and ground.

 

Rich.


  • 0

#7 RVerOnTheMove

RVerOnTheMove

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • I travel:Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 16 July 2014 - 08:29 PM

110, 110, 110! (or 115V or 120V, but never 220/240).  If you have a 30 amp coach you also have no reason to install a 50 amp circuit (it would be silly and of no benefit of any kind).


  • 0
Bill

#8 mpierce

mpierce

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 33 posts

Posted 16 July 2014 - 08:45 PM

110, 110, 110! (or 115V or 120V, but never 220/240).  If you have a 30 amp coach you also have no reason to install a 50 amp circuit (it would be silly and of no benefit of any kind).

 

Unless at some point in the future you get a 50 amp RV.


  • 0

#9 RVerOnTheMove

RVerOnTheMove

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • I travel:Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 16 July 2014 - 09:11 PM

No, you don't need 50 amp.  It's like saying I will put in a 100' driveway in case they ever build a 100' RV.  Should you ever need to update in the future it's not a bid deal.


  • 0
Bill

#10 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,604 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 17 July 2014 - 05:35 AM

Bill, You are full-timing. I still have a sticks and bricks base camp.

We have some friends that do travel more then we do and having a 50 amp service available would be a nice extra should they want to stop over.

Everyone has a different perspective or thoughts of what is important or useful. We would need to park our coach in another location should we wish to offer a stop over location for others if needed.

 

Rich. 


  • 0

#11 Elkhartjim

Elkhartjim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 06:01 AM

I never thought I would need a storage building larger than 40' x 50' either but I never thought I would need to store two Jeeps, a Chevy Silverado pu and a golf cart, well I did know about the pu.  I sure wish it was 50' x 60'.

 

All I was suggesting is while you're installing an outlet why not spend a few extra dollars and know you'll always be covered.  Heck, I managed for years on a 20amp circuit but I sure enjoy being able to run the ac while we're loading for trips since we have 50amps available.

 

It was only a suggestion and maybe to some its a foolish suggestion.


  • 0

Jim S
2008 38S Fleetwood Bounder DP

Houston, TX area


#12 StellersJay

StellersJay

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 111 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 06:17 AM

I have a 30 amp coach, but if I was installing an outlet at home, I would install a 50 amp outlet.  Gives a lot more options.  If you ever want to install a 220 volt appliance such as a welder or air compressor, the 50 amp plug can be used.  Many campgrounds out west only have 50 amp service. 

 

Sam


  • 0

#13 hermanmullins

hermanmullins

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,669 posts
  • Location:Whitewright, TEXAS

Posted 17 July 2014 - 06:50 AM

OK, folks lets get back to the original question. "A 30 amp RV outlet is 110 volts only NOT 220 volts." Gayle please pass this on to your electrician.

 

Herman


  • 0

"Fair winds and Following Seas"

Herman & Bobbie Mullins, F302225
Whitewright, TEXAS
'02 Monaco Dynasty, 40-foot 400 HP ISL
Chevrolet Silverado (M & G air brakes)
U.S. Navy PR-3 1956 to 1964

Southern Region Vice President for Six-State Rally Association
Lone Star Chapter FMCA Past President
South Central Lucky Rollers
Rally in The Pasture


#14 Elkhartjim

Elkhartjim

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts

Posted 17 July 2014 - 07:03 AM

Oops! :rolleyes:

 

I apologize to the OP, sorry for hijacking the thread.  I somethimes overlook the simpler things until someone points it out.  I sure wish someone had told me "build a larger building".


  • 0

Jim S
2008 38S Fleetwood Bounder DP

Houston, TX area


#15 kaypsmith

kaypsmith

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Location:Hueytown, Al
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 17 July 2014 - 08:07 AM

I thought about making suggestions for 50 amp as opposed to 30 amp, then thought what I origionally wrote was appropriate.


  • 0

#16 gaylemarlowe

gaylemarlowe

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Beulah, Colorado
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 17 July 2014 - 03:30 PM

Thanks ya all for the responses. Now I know the details on the 30 amp plug!!

I did consider the 50 amp as my brother is bringing his coach out west to stay for a few weeks, but it appears as we are limited to amperage available due to running a lot of other high amperage stuff (hot tub, welder, air compressor, 2 house ac units, etc.)

If I can squeeze it for 50 amps, I will do so, but may be limited to 30, which does do pretty well.

Thanks again guys!! :rolleyes:


  • 0

#17 RVerOnTheMove

RVerOnTheMove

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 495 posts
  • I travel:Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 17 July 2014 - 09:15 PM

50 amp service provides up to 100amps to the RV.  30 amp service provides up to 30 amps to the RV.  Be absolutely certain which of these you want to get involved with.

No one likes my response but you need to completely understand the differences.


  • 0
Bill

#18 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,771 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 17 July 2014 - 10:55 PM

Bill is correct.

 

30 amp is ONE hot leg 30 amps.

 

50 amp is TWO hot legs of 50 amps EACH= 100 amps.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#19 Tilldee

Tilldee

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted 12 August 2014 - 08:44 PM

We will be staying at a friends who says he has 100amp in his work shop.  Our M/H is 30amp, how can we use this? 


  • 0

#20 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,771 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 12 August 2014 - 08:53 PM

Tildee,

 

That will depend on how his 100 amp is wired.

 

For 30 amp service, you will need ONE hot, ONE neutral and ONE ground.  The critical part for RV's compared with some welding equipment, etc is ONE hot.

 

So, as long as he has a neutral to the work shop, wiring it should not be much of an issue.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users