slowe

Best Tow Dolly Tires

I have been using a master tow dolly for the last 6 years and have had many blowouts. Each blowout usually rips the polyethylene fenders off . Our last experience not only blew out the tire, and caused the fender to break away, but also mangled the steel frame preventing the spare from being put on. I keep the tire pressure inflated and the vehicle does not exceed the tow dollies weight capacity. 

I have been using a radial tire from tractor supply, but have also used D rated bias ply with the same results.

All suggestions welcome. I am switching to a Goodyear American made tire.

4 hours ago, slowe said:

I have been using a master tow dolly for the last 6 years and have had many blowouts. Each blowout usually rips the polyethylene fenders off . Our last experience not only blew out the tire, and caused the fender to break away, but also mangled the steel frame preventing the spare from being put on. I keep the tire pressure inflated and the vehicle does not exceed the tow dollies weight capacity. 

I have been using a radial tire from tractor supply, but have also used D rated bias ply with the same results.

All suggestions welcome. I am switching to a Goodyear American made tire.

What size tire are you running. I used a Acme tow dolly for a couple years with no problems. I don't remember what the ply rating was but it was fairly high. 

You might call them.

https://cartowdolly.com/product/12-spare-tire-only-no-wheel/

Bill

I only use ST rated 8 ply on my tow dolly. Mine are 205 75 14 tires, have only had one flat in 8 years. I use the same precautions as with coach tires, anything over 6 years gets replaced within 6 months.

15 hours ago, desertdeals69 said:

I use trailer duty tires two sizes larger, went from 13 inch wheels to 14 inch wheels.