richard5933

Tire Pressure, Load Capacity, etc

I've seen a few comments posted on other threads about tire pressure, load capacity, etc. which were concerning to me since I couldn't tell if they were based in science or just common practice. Rather than hijack the thread, I thought I'd start a new one.

I've learned a few things in my time driving, and especially driving and working on our coaches, but I'm no expert by any means. Some things I've seen posted elsewhere in the Forum got me thinking about how they would be interpreted by someone not too familiar with tire-related issues. Here's my take on a few of them. If you have facts to add, please feel free.

1) Air pressure in tires should be based on many factors, and usually not just by what's stamped into the sidewall of a tire. The vehicle manufacturer will have guidance, and each tire manufacturer publishes inflation charts to allow drivers to determine the proper pressure to use based on the load being carried. To calculate the proper air pressure in tires it's necessary to know the weight load being carried, the tire's inflation chart, the rim's max air pressure rating, as well as the vehicle manufacturer's recommendations and limitations for inflation.

2) Knowing each axle end weight is the ideal way to set tire pressure, but be sure that the tires on both ends of each axle carry the same pressure. That means if one side of your coach is heavier at the steer axle, you base the tire pressure in both front tires on the heavier side. Since the weight being carried on each axle is usually different, the air pressures used might be different for each axle.

3) Upgrading to a tire with a higher load rating will not by itself increase load capacity. Load capacity is a combination of many factors, and usually switching to a tire with a higher load rating won't increase capacity unless a higher air pressure is also used.