wayne77590

Aqua Hot - Hydronic System

I'm very new to the Aqua Hot system but all that I read states to service it or have it serviced on a yearly basis.

Yesterday I had it serviced  by Rudy Legett RV Hydronic Repair out of Baytown. Service call and filter/nozzle and clean out was $300 total. Watching the worker-bee in that small tight space made me say I'd see Rudy next year.  I'm very happy that I had it serviced. Although it wasn't that bad there was soot building but there is no telling how long ago it was serviced. Rudy said it was not as bad as he has seen but it was time to service it. Since we bought it used and do not have any service records there is no telling when, or if, it was serviced.

I got an education on the panel lights on the front panel of the Aqua Hot itself. It is very unfortunate that I don't remember what was said.  It'll come to me, just wait a month or two, or a couple years when I ask him to repeat it every year.

One thing that was said, and has been said before on this forum, is to turn the burner on once a month or max of six weeks. Let it cycle through one time. No need to turn the thermostat or elecectric on, just the burner.  It pushes the diesel through and keeps the nozzle clean. If not done, the diesel residue can gel around the nozzle and create problems.

Wayne, you have received some very sound advice. However the tech that services my unit Lloyd De Gerald says to run it at least once a month. If needed to, run the thermostat up to 80 degrees or enough to make the unit come on and then let it run for 20 to 30 minutes. It is the same with your generator. At least once a month under load. This helps keep them both in proper working order.