fillbert

House Batteries Discharging

Hello All. I'm new to RVing, FMCA and the forum. Here is my problem ... I hope you can help.

While connected to shore power, my house batteries are in a state of continual discharge. It's very prevalent at night while using the 12 volt lights in the coach (they get noticably dimmer). They do not recharge overnight. The converter is an Intelepower 9100 and is the stock equipment. The converter output is 13.5 vdc measured at the component and 13.4 vdc measured at the batteries (2 new deep cycle). There is a small plus/minus factor to these measurements.

I disconnected the batteries from the converter and it runs the house 12-volt system just fine. As soon as I reconnect to the batteries with shore power being applied, the batteries seem to take over and power the 12-volt system. I was under the impression that the converter would, under these conditions, power the 12-volt system and trickle charge the battery bank.

I have also located, cleaned, reinstalled and checked the grounding points at the converter and battery. They measure zero resistance with my meter. Everything points to the converter unless there is another component in the system that isolates the battery when the converter is functioning. I purchased the coach six months ago and have had no problem until roughly three weeks ago. A little long winded, but there it is.

Phil

Phil,

Welcome to the FMCA Forum.

It sounds like you are going about the troubleshooting the right way.

One thing I would suggest is to use another (portable) charger to fully charge the batteries -- like overnight and then have them load tested. Most auto parts houses, Sears automotive centers, etc will do it for free. You could also check their SG after fully charging them (SG testers are generally under $6).

If the batteries test good, then I would call Intelepower for their recommended test procedures.

Brett Wolfe

Guest BillAdams