thrushl

Steering Problem

Ok folks, I REALLY need help with this one. I have a 2005 HR Navigator. I started overheating and the power steering went out. I got it to a shop, the only one in town and they ordered a new power steering pump (which also powers my cooling fans for the engine) and a new steering gear. It turns fully to the left, but not all the way to the right. When it gets a little over half way to the right, it gets tight and then stops before it makes a complete right to the stop. What to try next? The shop is stumped and I'm no mechanic.

Thanks in advance.

Leo

Leo,

Sorry for your problems. You need to give as much information as you can about your engine. Mfg., Model, Horse Power, ans so forth.

You spoke of the Power steering pump and the hydraulic powered fan. You also stated that it (?) would turn fully to the left but not all the way to the right. Are you speaking of the Fan or New Pump?

There are some smart folks out there but they need more information.

Hope someone can come to your rescue.

Herman

It sounds like someone maybe installed the pitman arm on the steering gear in the incorrect position.

To check it, you will have to disconnect the drag link from the pitman arm and with the engine off, turn the steering wheel all the way to the left. Count the turns as you turn to the right. Now go back exactly halfway and you will find the center of the gear.

If the front tires are in the straight ahead position, you can reattach the pitman arm back on the gear in the correct position and your steering should turn both directions the same amount.

I will add to the excellent advice by Mr Lorntson from Precision Frame (this is what he does for a living):