twstatler@yahoo.com

Motorhome Emissions Testing

I am a resident of Colorado Springs and own a diesel pusher motorhome. I doubt that I drive more than 400 miles a year along the Colorado front range. Colorado has an emissions law that requires diesel vehicles ONLY to have a dynamic emissions test every other year in some front range counties. The law does not apply to all front range counties. I believe the state has this law only so they could "cash in" on federal funds. This emissions test costs $85 to $100 plus the time and mileage to drive to the testing facility. As one of hundreds of other front range residents with diesel motorhomes, I believe this law is unfair to us. We do not use these motorhomes daily to drive to work, school, or shopping. I would like to see the law changed to exempt these vehicles from the emissions test.

In Calif we have mandatory emission contol SMOG inspections for all licensed gasoline

driven vehicles, but not in all counties. Example, Plumas County is an exempt because

of all the trees (forests) within the county. CA Politicians and environmentalists are continually

trying to pass additional emission control laws for Diesel vehicles and lawn mowers, and

prohibit wood burning fireplaces wood/charcoal barbecues, and smoking on the beaches.

Guest Wayne77590

Ssshhhh! Please don't tell Texas. We do not require it on Diesel (yet).

The environmental laws are a patchwork, applied in some places, not in others. It seems unfair but what is really being done is enforcing stricter rules in places where they are needed and not enforcing those rules where they aren't needed. If the same laws were enforced everywhere then you would have many more rules to deal with because there are even stricter rules in other parts of the country.