Chunkybeastracin@aol.com

First Diesel Pusher

We just purchased our first diesel pusher RV, a Beaver Monterey with a cat engine. Just a little confused on the starting procedure and especially in cold weather as we live in Colorado. Was told to always let warm up to operating temp before driving but saw other articles that said not to let idle for longer than 10 minutes as engine damage can occur. Noticed the dash does have a light that comes on saying engine preheat and after some idle time that light goes off. I assume that show safe operating time to drive.

I also noticed that when it was extremely cold around 8 degrees when I put the trans in D and applied gas nothing happened, in neutral the gas pedal would allow to change the rpm. After additional warm up when placed in D the coach moved just fine. Sorry about the stupid questions but I am new to this style of coach, while I am excited to finally have a pusher, I feel lost on alot of operating things of this coach

Thank you for any help, Mike and Lori

I have a 05 Journey with a 350 Cat. To start mine you turn the key to accessory a light on the dash will light saying "wait to start engine" when that goes out you can turn the key to start the engine. Mine also says not to idle the engine in low idle for more than 10 minutes, however, you can set the cruise control to 1000 rpms to idle longer. I have not had any problems with putting the trans in D and driving off, however, I have never driven it in very cold weather either. May want to check your Allison transmission manual, I do not remember seeing anything about cold weather operation. This is my first diesel as well and have had the Journey just over a year. I think you will love it! Quiet driving, the engine brake is awesome going down steep grades, and the ride is awesome. Congrats on your new DP! Good Luck and Happy RVing!!!

While you should read your Engine Owners Manual for specific protocol, here are the basics for all modern diesel engines: