Sign in to follow this  
carl17

Zoning changing

Town Of clay in Central New York is Planning to  Limit  Motorize Vehicles  to 14000 gvw park in drive ways .   No Grandfathering of current Rvs       . Also may include trailers to.   Has any one else run into  this kind of thing. Right now in planning stage.   wiil not effect me as i live one town over, but one town than next.

First, I'm not a lawyer. Don't even play one on TV. But I've had a bit of experience with similar things on our property.

Around here, when they change the zoning to make it more restrictive, those already using the less restrictive rules are generally automatically grandfathered until they either stop using the property in that way or the property is sold and the new owner stops the use.

For example, we had 4 horses on our property. The zoning was changed to only allow 2 horses on a property our size. We were allowed to keep all 4 horses since we had them prior to the change. After not having them for 18 months our property reverts to the newer restriction.

You purchased the property with the intention of using it to store your MH. After the fact, if they now make that not possible, then they are denying you use of your property as it was when purchased. In Wisconsin there is case law against this. It's called a 'regulatory taking' and basically says that if rules are changed to restrict you from a previously allowable use of your property it's considered a taking just like eminent domain, which would require due process AND compensation. Placing restrictions on the use of your property in such a way takes away a portion of its value, and the owner is entitled to remedies.