Sign in to follow this  
holstin

Parking Lights and Dash come on

I am new to the Class "A." I have a 2010 Fleetwood Discovery. I moved up from a 5th wheel. Here is my question.

Periodically, my parking lights like to turn themselves on. It is happening while I am at a campground hooked up to shore power. It's not raining out, so I don't think there is a short of any kind from rain. Even my outside lights appear at times to come on and off.

Is there anything on this rig that could be charging and just need a place to discharge? If not, what can I look at? When I do notice them on because the lights on my dash are on also. I just toggle the switch a couple of times and they turn back off. I am not loosing power in the rig or anything because none of my clocks reset.

I am not near any kind of dealer for the next few weeks, so I am not able to take it in and have it looked at. It's not like they would find anything, anyway.

Since all these mysterious events are related to the headlight switch, I would guess that replacing that switch will solve your problem. It sounds as if there is a short in the switch that is periodically arcing or connecting in some way to cause the lights to come on. Flipping the switch off and on breaks this short and the problem goes away. There could be other possibilities such as a wire somewhere in the dish that is shorting with another but it would affect only the dash lights or only the parking lights. The fact that it involves both of these suggests to me that the switch is the problem.