skykingtcb

Steep hills pac brake

Hello I am a two year newbie. I have a trip coming up that I am thinking about because of two long steep hills. the two hills I am thinking about is CA hwy 223 from hwy 58 down to Arvin, CA. and then hwy 166 from hwy 99 over to hwy 101. I am driving a 2003 Diplomat 300 cummins Allison pac brake. pulling a 2016 Jeep with air supplement braking. I have learned to turn on pac brake slow it down to let it shift. on these long steep hills how low of gear to u want to go? or how low on speed? or r these  crazy hills stay away from. I have serviced brakes. Thank u for your help. on 166 from 101 to 99 it has two runaway ramps in a short distance so it is got thinking I need to ask someone gas been there done that.

I had a similar set up on my last coach and I have driven most of those hills including the Grapvine several times. My technique would be to slow before you head down. Some hills require trucks to slow to 30 mph. I usually start around 45-50 (or the speed and gear I came up in) and let it down shift to 4th gear. If it wants to speed up you can use the service breaks to slow it down by braking fairly hard then releasing the brakes once you have slowed to the speed and rpm you want to maintain so they don't overheat. If it wants to pick up speed you can always slow till it drops in to 3rd gear. I could go down a 35 degree hill and it wouldn't pick up the pace once I hit 3 ed gear. I would have to give it throttle to keep it from slowing more than needed. 

Bill

Gear down until you hardly need your service brakes.

As you learn your coach you will know the gear you need.

If in not sure go lower gear and then go up as it is easier than over speed and heating your brakes.

On 6/4/2020 at 6:14 PM, Skykingtcb said: