Sign in to follow this  
vacationer1947

No Brake Lights On Tow Dolly

We have an 04 Holiday Rambler Vacationer.

When the brakes are applied, the tow dolly lights don't activate. All other lights work, including the flashers. I called Monaco and they couldn't come up with answer other than a converter box isn't totally working.

Couldn't give a specific location of this box other than inside the front bumper. I looked around and couldn't find one. When hooked up to our car, all lights function properly.

I Would appreciate any suggestions on the issue.

I hate to see no responses so even though I am not an electrician nor do I play one on TV here are some ideas. Do you use the same cable for the tow dolly and for the car? If not you may have a cable problem. I just opened the end of my 6 wire cable and found that the wire that feed the right side light for turn and brake was broken off at the connector. First I traced the lines for continuity with a continuity tester.

If it is not the cable then run the same continuity test from the pin or socket on the dolly connector back to the light. eventually you will find a broken/disconnected/shorted wire, most likely.

A simple $10 ammeter/voltmeter is a very useful tool. Set it on 12V, plug in the two leads. The negative goes on any ground (metal frame) on your coach, the second pin can be used to find the function of each pin on the plug to your tow dolly. If you can't find a pin that functions when the brakes on the coach are applied (have a friend pump the brakes while you test), that means that there is a broken connection somewhere. Start disassembling plugs and looking for broken connections.