MONTIE

Rubber roof cleaning

Is there some secret solution that will get the black and grime off the rubber roof? I am a contractor and we use rubber roofs all the time, but we never clean them. I talked to my roofer and he did not know what to suggest that would not harm the body of the coach. As for caulk, we use MP-1 and I am sure that will reseal all the joints, right.

There are several materials that are all referred to as "rubber roofs": EDPM, TPO and Brite-tex are three common ones.

Your safest bet is to determine what material you have and call its manufacturer for their current recommendation.

Most recommend a non-petroleum-based soap such as Murphy's Oil Soap.

Brett Wolfe

Best thing to use is Murphy's Oil soap and for heavy stains use either white wall cleaner or Clorox Cleanup Spray. Works Great.

My trailer had an EDPM roof by Dicor. For years Dicor recommended Dawn Dishwashing Soap so that is what I did. Now they have a roof cleaner. Don't scrub too hard or it could hurt the roof. No bleaches!! Better to leave stains on rather than scrub too hard. Doing nothing is better than harsh soaps.

When done you can coat with 303- Aerospace Protectant. No petroleum additives in this product. Also good for all rubber including tires.

Guest Wayne77590

Do not use any product that has citrus in it unless you rinse, rinse, rinse and rinse. Then rinse.

Birds tend to think that the citrus smell means there is fruit under that soft membrane and will peck it to death trying to get to "the fruit."