severns@sprynet.com

Hydronic Heater Coolant Leak

Hello, folks.

I am hoping to get some new ideas to solve a problem that I have been chasing for several months. We recently replaced the pumps that circulate coolant through our hydronic heating system. The heater and system work very well. However, since replacing the pumps, I have smelled coolant when the system heats up or when the engine heats up (all part of the same system). I know I am loosing some coolant. However, based on the measured loss, the leak is very small. I have cheeked every logical place for the leak and simply cannot find one. I even hired a professional who could not find the leak. I have checked al the obvious connections, hoses that I can see and taken apart some of the storage areas. What is worse, there are no puddles in the coach, under the coach or tell-tail leak trails.

By the way, we have a 1997 Country Coach Affinity. I would welcome any thoughts that you might have or ideas on how to track the leak down.

Thanks

Shawn

Sean, Your leak sounds like a frustrating problem to troubleshoot. Since you already hired one professional, you might be willing to hire another to use a thermal imaging camera to possibly locate the leak. These cameras can show you minute temperature variations and might show you somewhere the coolant is spraying out with a fine mist or pinhole leak. Asfar as finding a company that does this, try the phone book (or internet or other sources) possibly for restoration companies that do water/fire damage restoration (thats what my company does, and how I know about these cameras).

Good luck,

Chris Guenther

Westminster, CO

F3508-S

Hi Shawn,