mikegourley

Maintaining Residency

We live in Virginia and hope to rent our home and travel in our motor home for two years using a mail service based in Florida, but we are not sure what we have to do to be able to vote and keep our Virginia conceal carry permits. We want to maintain our Virginia residency, but are not sure what we need to do.

We live in Virginia and hope to rent our home and travel in our motor home for two years using a mail service based in Florida, but we are not sure what we have to do to be able to vote and keep our Virginia conceal carry permits. We want to maintain our Virginia residency, but are not sure what we need to do.

Well, first let me start with two points:

1. I AM NOT AN EXPERT and only tell you what we did.

2. I'm not exactly sure "why" you want to maintain VA (personal property tax on your rig, lower insurance rates, etc), but that is YOUR decision and not mine for sure.

Simply put, do nothing... You still own the house and unless you do something to establish residency somewhere else, you plan to return to VA, and don't stay so long in one of the states that require you to get their tags, license, etc. - You should have no issue.

My wife is STILL a VA resident and has her VA CCW, but I went to SD, got driver's license, tags, title, and YES CCW. Now, insurance is 40% less than VA, tags are less, and I do not have to pay VA personal property tax of $520.00 per month. I understand that if you are lucky enough to be in the one or two counties that do not tax RVs that may not make a difference, but to us it did.

JUST my two cents.

The problem is that owning a house does not mean you are a resident if you don't live in it and have it rented so the address can't be used by you . You can own houses all over the country and not be resident of any of the states they are located in.

You are right to be concerned. Many states require you to keep the address on your drivers licenses current and you don't have one in VA.