Sign in to follow this  
Guest Wayne77590

Censorship

Guest Wayne77590

I have noticed that a few items that were posted by me, and others, have been deleted from the forum. I realize that administering a forum is a monumental task that I do not wish to have. I do have a request, if you may. If you are going to delete someone's post, for whatever reason, could you not send them an email explaining the stance that was taken? I am more offended by items just being deleted, then I ever would if it were accompanied by an explanation. Also, by reason of explanation, I could learn what the mind set is of the administrator and it would help me the next time I thought to post comments, and maybe not do so.

I do realize that I am an invited member here.

Can we just have fun.

Thanks.

As a classroom teacher, I learned quite quickly that general correction of a group was very ineffective. The best way to change behavior is to direct comments to the greatest offender. When that person stops their inappropriate behavior it dampens the inappropriate behavior of the rest of the group.

If messages are inappropriate, then I agree, when they are removed the sender should be notified and an explanation given. Specific information will always help us know what the bounds are and when we are seen to be pushing those limits. Some will take such criticism personally but most of us are adults and can take correction without resentment.

JMHO

Tom Butler

Typically the author of a deleted post is notified. We'll make sure that it gets done in the future.

Some forum visitors tell us they get annoyed by off-topic posts and they just skip over some authors' posts for that reason. Those off-topic strings probably were the ones that were deleted.

Please note: We do not censor opinions or ideas on the forums. We do take action, though, against posts or topics that could cause unrest in the community beyond a civil and polite disagreement.

Guest Wayne77590

Todd,