katlen86

Caterpillar 3126 No Turbo Boost Pressure

I was driving my 2002 Beaver home and lost a lot of power and noticed I had 0 turbo boost pressure. Made it home but it was tough, I hope I didn't cause more damage by driving it that way. Checked the air filter it was fine, what else should I look for. I'm a rookie when it comes to diesel engines.

Two things to start with:

1. If you have an exhaust brake, VERIFY that the butterfly valve is not stuck shut. When was it last lubed? What brand is it?

2. Check "plumbing" between turbo and CAC and CAC and engine. Something as simple as a broken hose clamp could allow boost pressure to blow the hose off.

Brett

The question on the exhaust brake is not whether it worked (butterfly closed) but, whether the butterfly completely opened when the exhaust brake was turned off.

When I broke a hose clamp on the cac hose the engine didn't have enough power to move the coach. The hose would just blow off. I would check the waste gate, maybe stuck open.

The waste gate is that on the exhaust side of turbo and cac hose is were. The turbo has 2 steel tubes coming off it 1 at top and 1 at the bottom. Forgive but I'm a rookie on diesel engines.

Follow the hoses/steel tubes from turbo to CAC (looks like a radiator-- actually it is an air to air radiator) and from CAC to engine. Make sure the boots/hoses are in place and clamps tight.

Also, check that the exhaust brake butterfly moves freely (though the return spring is STRONG.

I checked all hoses and clamps and checked wast gate all checked good. Should I replace turbo boost pressure sensor next or is there something else I should check? I appreciate all the help so far.

Guest BillAdams

I assume you have checked that the turbo itself is not the problem?