Sign in to follow this  
Trynforpar

Newbie to Motorhomes

I am a newbie to Motorhomes and recently purchased a new 40' Winnebago Itasca. For the last 10 years we had a 40' Fifth Wheel so I am used to towing. Are there any helpful articles that can prepare a newbie on things to do before you get on the road. Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Trynforpar,

Welcome to the Forum. Your 5th wheel has give you a lot of experience and you can grow from there.

Lower your antenna.

Don't forget to set the Parking Brake, your DP doesn't have a park position in the transmission.

Do your walk around as you have always done.

Oh yeah! Don't forget the DW.

Experience will be your best teacher. As you will see here on the Forum we all learn something new all the time.

Again welcome.

Herman

Having owned 5th wheel trailers, you will be familiar with many of the systems and features common on motor homes. A built-in generator and inverter system that are integrated into your vehicle may be new and may take some time to figure out. Leveling will be a new and should be simpler process now. You may find that the ability to level isn't quite what you are used to with 5th wheels.

A big one, assuming that you are towing a car is that you won't be able to back up easily. Backing up for us means unhooking and if continuing on our way, reattaching the toad. Given this information, you learn to be slower and more judicious about pulling into unknown areas. I was observing yesterday, the campground we are in here in St. John's, Newfoundland is a bit confusing. Those towing 5th wheels came rolling in at a good pace and weren't pausing to look things over. Motor homes were coming in slowly, pausing to figure out the road system and then proceeding slowly toward their assigned parking spot. You really don't want to be driving around a lot in tight spaces like campgrounds and parking lots.