carlpeterson

Honda Fit Transmission Failure

I have a 2011 Honda Fit which suffered a transmission failure after towing to San Marcos Texas well withing the 8hr procedure for towing.

The warranty is 5 yrs. and 50,000.00 miles, I only had 43,000.00miles. Honda refused coverage because they said proper pretowing procedures were not followed. I have been flying safely for 60 years so I follow checklists religiously, so I assured them that I went through the proper procedure before towing.

I felt obligated to make all owners and potential owners aware of this, and have written all RV organizations that I belong to. I told Honda I was doing this, and would follow up with results, good or bad. So far, all bad. The Honda dealer in San Marcos originally said the warranty should apply, but later changed their story after American Honda turned down the warranty.

I will follow up with any updates.

I will ask my local Honda dealer if that will be the policy for all RV-s that own Honda's.

I think their response was generic. They asked how can I prove I followed the instructions. My response was in my first post, but unless Honda changes their response to this, I will never buy another Honda, because their warranties appear to be worthless. I have followed check lists for 60 years, so I know I did the correct procedures before leaving. Besides, my wife always checks me also.

Thanks for sharing, Carl. It's good to know so we can all make informed decisions. Also too bad since Honda has some of the most popular vehicles for towing.

It seems to me Honda should do some kind of analysis of the transmission to determine the cause of the failure before assessing blame. Weve been driving Honda products for decades and have never had a warranty issue with them.

Carl,