Tunedude

Cummins ISL EGR Cooler Failed

I am stuck in a repair shop dealing with the EGR cooler failure.  I have a 2008 Monaco Diplomat 400Hp Cummins motor with 64K miles.  My cooler failed and pushed coolant into other parts of the engine.  When we had the repairs done we found out Cummins stopped making parts for that cooler.  We had to pay for a new cooler system which was not cheap.  Is anyone else having these problems?  After the repair we got 70 miles away from the repair shop and had to stop for other problems due to the coolant getting into other parts.  I have not seen any recalls but this seems to me to be a manufactured problem, not operator error.

Have a trucking buddy with a newer Series 60 Detroit that has EGR. Found a shop that will remove it for around $2000. ECM has to be modified also.Never had to deal with it because my last truck was a 2001, but based on all that I have heard, I hope he does it. In PA, diesels are not inspected. 

1 hour ago, WILDEBILL308 said:

Makes you understand why there are people selling EGR delete kits.

It would be nice if the OP came back with some more info.

Bill

Got a feeling he is in a state of total frustration !!! The issue with the Cooler appears to have been known before his coach was built and the sad thing is, I have feeling a that the chassis builder got hoodwinked into buying them with a low price.

Rich.

This is an ISL 2008 Cummins pusher.  The cooler was an EGR cooler which had to be replaced with a new system..  That failure lead to having to clean both filters, replace my Turbo, and other components,  Very expensive.

Note from Moderator: 

With the additional facts from the Original Poster, I have edited his original post to identify what engine and failure he had. 

And deleted posts about other engines made before we knew what problem/engine he had.

Brett

3 hours ago, Tunedude said: