Jump to content
Sisususie

Annual License Fee For Motorhome

Recommended Posts

 Was trying to justify how Michigan can ask $1579.00 for an annual license fee for our Holiday Rambler. Plus, we are not in Michigan all year. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sounds like Michigan bases the annual registration, at least partially, on the valuation of the vehicle. Some states call this a personal property tax. Used to be that at least part of this was a deduction on Federal taxes - not sure if it is anymore.

Here in Wisconsin the annual fee for our coach is only about $120. Of course, other taxes here are higher. Michigan has a flat income tax rate of 4.25%, where the rates in Wisconsin go from 4% to 7%. You gotta pay the piper somehow.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, richard5933 said:

Used to be that at least part of this was a deduction on Federal taxes - not sure if it is anymore.

 I don't know how it will be for 2018 with the newest tax codes, but has been through 2017.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In the past, only the tax portion of the total was deductible. If there is a combined total which contains tax and a tag fee or admin fee only the tax part is deductible. Our fee in Wisconsin is only about $120, and it is not considered a tax so none of it is deductible. Turbo Tax has a listing of the states with deductible vehicle registration fees/taxes. Given the tax updates last year, it's likely that there have been changes to this in some way so I'd do the necessary homework before assuming anything for this year.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Since the subject has come up again, for all in Alabama, RV tags are apportioned here, this means that if you do not reregister in your month to register, then you can reregister any time during the current year at a portion (the unused) portion of the current year and only pay tax for the remainder of the year. By doing this you can avoid paying for the portion of the year that the RV was not being used with no penalty. Similar to what CaptainMike says that he does in Michigan. The key word is apportioned.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Texas?  Not.  Cost is by year, by weight...nothing else and if I get it in June & it was due in Jan., I pay the same amount & it's due again in Jan!  That's bad news for some friends, that's in Heavy Lift, out side US...their gone 6 to 8 months a year! :(

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 10/4/2018 at 12:30 PM, richard5933 said:

.... Some states call this a personal property tax...

Yes, you are getting off light for $1,600.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Georgia the sales tax at the time of purchase is used as the tag Ad Valorem fee. If you buy from an individual you pay 7% of the value of the motorhome. There after you only pay a $70:00 renewal fee. The renewal is based on gross wt and can be slightly higher or lower.  Vehicle renewal is $20.00.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×