bmccann

Axle Weight Differences

This is my first time on the Forum.

I am an RV Newbie who recently bought my first Class A rig, a 2000 Holiday Rambler Endeavor DP. My problem is that I have an 800-900 pound difference in the weights of the front drivers side and passenger side wheels. I have tried to shift weight to the passenger side, but still have an 800 lb difference. This occurs with full or low fuel, and empty or 2/3 full fresh, Grey and black tanks.

My question is this- Is this weight difference abnormal, and if so, what can be done about it? Also, could this have anything to do with the suspension? The two slide outs are on the drivers side. The detail numbers on the weights are as follows: Front GAWR 10,400, actual weight 9700 (Left side 5250 Right Side 4450) Rear GAWR 17,000 Actual weight 16,500 (Left rear 8300-Right Rear 8200)

I have new Michelin XZA+3 on the front 275R/80 22.5 16PR LRH, and Toyo 295R/75 22.5 14 PR LRG on the rear, with a build date of 2007.

I am running with 95psi all around. Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Bill

Bill,

Welcome to the FMCA Forum.

Yes, different floorplans-- ones with much more "stuff" on one side can be substantially heavier on one side than the other.

And, yes, this can also be caused by suspension issues. Luckily these are fairly easy to check and adjust.

You will have three RIDE HEIGHT VALVES that control ride height. Two on one axle and one on the other. Check with your chassis maker for your "ride height specs". They are generally measured from a given point on the axle to a given point on the chassis.

IF you have safety stands and basic mechanical skills, you can check this yourself. But do NOT go under a motorhome, particularly to work on the suspension height without safety stands.