Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Motorhome Electrical Outlets Not Working


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 susansmellcat

susansmellcat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:17 AM

Hi, everybody!

 

We have been living in a motorhome to try to cut expenses. However, a couple weeks ago we lost our electrical outlets. None of them will work.

 

There is no battery in the motorhome, but our lights still are on, so I know the connection to the barn we are plugged into is good. We really need these plugs for our heaters and electric blanket.

 

Any suggestions?


  • 0

#2 kaypsmith

kaypsmith

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Location:Hueytown, Al
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:30 AM

Really need more info. Is the motorhome 30-amp or 50-amp service? If it is 30-amp, there will be 3 prongs on the plug in, or if 50-amp, there will be 4 prongs. All motorhomes have a breaker panel, or a fuse panel if it is a really old one. I would start there, looking for tripped breakers or blown fuses. There could be many factors though, so additional info will be helpful.

Kay


  • 0

#3 hermanmullins

hermanmullins

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,669 posts
  • Location:Whitewright, TEXAS

Posted 22 January 2014 - 11:34 AM

Susan,

 

Welcome to the Forum.

 

In your coach you should have an AC Electrical Panel. Check and see if you may have a tripped breaker.

 

Let the Forum know what make and model coach you have and someone may have the same coach as you and have had the same problem.

 

Herman


  • 0

"Fair winds and Following Seas"

Herman & Bobbie Mullins, F302225
Whitewright, TEXAS
'02 Monaco Dynasty, 40-foot 400 HP ISL
Chevrolet Silverado (M & G air brakes)
U.S. Navy PR-3 1956 to 1964

Southern Region Vice President for Six-State Rally Association
Lone Star Chapter FMCA Past President
South Central Lucky Rollers
Rally in The Pasture


#4 wolfe10

wolfe10

    Advanced Member

  • Moderator, Super
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,771 posts
  • Location:League City, Texas

Posted 22 January 2014 - 01:51 PM

Locate the GFI outlet or breaker.  Many coaches have two.  Push the "reset" button.


  • 0

Dianne and Brett Wolfe
2003 Alpine 38'
Moderator, FMCA.com Forums
Chairman, FMCA Technical Advisory Committee
Member, FMCA Long-Range and Development Committee 2007-2009
Moderator, http://www.dieselrvclub.org/(FMCA chapter)


#5 huffypuff

huffypuff

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 418 posts
  • Location:Camano Island, Washington
  • I travel:With Pets

Posted 22 January 2014 - 05:57 PM

The inverter charger has breakers also to check for such as an popped out 10/15 amp buttons.


  • 0
At Redmond, OR

 

 

Ray & Hana Huffman

2006 Holiday Rambler, Ambassador PLQ 40' 10" 

2006 Jeep Liberty Limited CRD used as toad

2012 Cadillac SRX4

1976 Cadillac Coupe deVille

2009 7,000 lbs Carhauler Trailer


#6 Raytech

Raytech

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 09 March 2014 - 02:41 AM

Hi my name is Ray.

 

I just signed into this forum and I have the same problem of no power on the outlets. The generator runs good and only 1.0 volts coming out. This is a 30 amps outlet. 

 

If I plug in to the power outlet in my house everything work good but when a plug into the motorhome, no power on any outlet.  All breakers are good and fuses OK.

 

Need some help.


  • 0

#7 DickandLois

DickandLois

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,604 posts
  • Location:Where ever the wheels stop ?

Posted 09 March 2014 - 12:07 PM

Ray,

 

Welcome to the FMCA Forum!

 

Could you post the Year, Make and Model number of your coach for the members?

 

This information helps us to know if your coach wiring has ATS system or one needs to plug the shore power line into a J box mounted in a compartment. Then we can offer information more relevant to the wiring. 

 

Rich.


  • 0

#8 Medico

Medico

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Where ever the front of the coach takes us!
  • I travel:Full-time in my motorhome

Posted 10 March 2014 - 06:03 AM

There is obviously a problem with the generator. You should have a full 120 volts (approx.) when the generator is running. I would check for circuit breakers on the generator. If that is not the problem, you might need to consult with a professional for that brand generator. There might also be a main power disconnect switch somewhere on your motor home.

 

For the original OP, you should also be checking for open circuit breakers as Herman and Brett mentioned. Whenever I lose power to outlets, I have a circuit breaker tripped. For example, when I am running a small ceramic heater and the coffee maker, if I try to toast some bread I will trip the breaker to the front of the coach. This is a likely candidate for you as well. Electric heaters draw a lot of power.


  • 0

FMCA #F431170, GS #822128658, Escapees SKP #112655

 

2006 Country Coach Magna (525 HP Cat C13 1650 torque, Alison 4000 6 speed tranny), 2012 Jeep Liberty

 

 

CountryCoachMagna1med_zps83669550.jpg


#9 WhiteEagle

WhiteEagle

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 92 posts

Posted 10 March 2014 - 08:35 PM

Is it possible that you have power in the outlets not in a slide - but only the slide outlets are dead?

 

Are you positive that the electrical supply plug for all the outlets in the slides has not been pulled out or gotten jarred out?

 

Each slide's outlets have their power supplied by a plug in an outlet mounter in the ceiling of the compartments under the respective slide... crawl in, look up 


  • 0

2009 Allegro Bus 40 QSP-Powerglide-Cummins ISL 8.9L DP-Allison 3000 6speed-2 stage Jake EB-Pressure Pro -Blue Ox Plate, Bar, Patriot Braking system-XtraRide Platinum Warranty FMCA Badgers-Allegro Club WAW- -CoachNet Platinum Roadside-Progressive Insur.

Everything's Relative - Unless Something Changes, Nothing Will





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users